• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Sign in to follow this  
JasonACraft

Paleo Packers?

I've been transitioning to Paleo for the past 6-7 months or so. I like it. Alot. Works really well for me and I'm about 90-95% accurate on my diet.(no wheat, dairy, beans, sweeeeeeeets...)

And now it's commit to the start of my backpacking season and I don't know what to do. Just looking for feedback, brand sources, recipes for meals that I can take backpacking. I know there's more than a few of you out there.

Last year I did the pack it gourmet and liked it, but looking at some of those labels now has me cringing. Need the meat and veggies!

Lunch today, butternut squash bisque. Frozen from a few weeks ago.[ATTACH]126553[/ATTACH]

• Like 1

I've actually been looking into dehydrating food for backpacking lately, if that's something you might be interested I can give you a few resources (I'd just need to fire up my other computer to grab them).  Nice thing about it is you can tailor the meals to fit your dietary needs.

One thing I would look into is working quinoa into meals, quinoa is often misunderstood by Paleo dieters who mistake it for a grain..it isn't..it's actually considered a grass.  Which means, if you are hardcore Paleo...yes you can have it.  Here's why I recommend it for hiking: calorie/carb dense with tons of protein and fiber.  You expend a lot of energy when hiking, and this is a very simple way to keep yourself well fueled.  You can take it either pre-cooked if going out for a day, or combine it with dehydrated meat/veggies and seasoning..then just add a little water and a camp stove/fire and you'll have a full meal in 15 minutes (can you tell what I plan to do with my food dehydrator?).

Jerky would be a good source of protein as well, has an awesome shelf life too.  Paleo jerky recipes are pretty easy to find.

Fruit and nuts/seeds would be good.  I'm sure you could also come up with a trail mix recipe.

• Like 1