• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

tei_

Warming up for deadlifts

Hello! So I started lifting in September 2015, am 113 lbs, and the most I can lift for a single rep is 140 lbs. I have been having trouble with stalling on this lift both for trying to raise the amount I can lift as a single rep and also in trying to string together reps of lower weights for a set of 5 (I am doing a vaguely stronglifts-like program.) I'm wondering if it's partly because I'm wearing myself out during my warm-up set, which is usually 5x115 lbs. For instance, yesterday I started with the 5x115 but then wasn't able to do the 5x125 I wanted to work on all in a row-- I failed the third one, and then did the rest as singles, which didn't feel particularly heavy except that I couldn't do them strung together. 

Could not doing this set or lowering the weight on it could help when I work on the weights that I actually want to get more comfortable with?  Do I actually even need to warm up with the deadlift movement if I'm already warm from squats/mobility work?

If you're working at 125, then 115 is definitely too heavy for a warm-up set (at least for 5 reps).

You're going to be better off with something like this:

45x8-10

75-95x3-5

And possibly ~105x1 if you feel like you really need it, but you probably don't

Then straight to your working sets. I'd definitely recommend keeping a specific deadlift warm-up (like above) to get you into the groove. Glute activation work is also a great idea pre-deadlift - bird dogs, glute bridges, anything that gets your glutes firing.

If you're working at 125, then 115 is definitely too heavy for a warm-up set (at least for 5 reps).

You're going to be better off with something like this:

45x8-10

75-95x3-5

And possibly ~105x1 if you feel like you really need it, but you probably don't