de-lurking from The Boulder Bubble; aka 28 square miles surrounded by reality

hi, my nick is lfr and I'm a carb addict.

I found my way here from various links over at reddit and MetaFilter and have been lurking for awhile. In the past 3-4 weeks I've been inspired by a number of things, not the least of which has been cleaning up my diet and making some changes to my workout schedule and seeing *real* changes as a result.

and on review: OMG HOLY WALL OF TEXT BATMAN!

tl;dr summary: washed-up GenX nerd bike racer chick gets hurt, gets fat, gets pissed off, decides to FIX ALL THE THINGS. Finds religion through running, then skate skiing, then re-kindles an old love affair with Paleo diet. Discovers NerdFitness site via other nerdy sites, posts ginormous wall o' text which you may now happily skip.

And for the masochistic reader: I am a veteran bicycle racer, longtime nerd and general rebel. In high school I was that weird kid in the back of class who resembled the Ally Sheedy character in "Breakfast Club". I am also 43, so I'm sure a major percentage of the Rebellion are too young to get that reference.