• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Severine

Severine: The unglamorous effectiveness of tracking things

I'm new to Nerd Fitness (oh hai!) but not to being a nerd or caring about fitness. I found the forums just as this challenge was about to begin, and I know from experience that the thing I need is accountability and tracking in order to get my habits on track. I'm hoping I'll find some interesting people along the way.

Main Goal: Right now my main focus is weight loss. A few years back I lost a large amount of weight by tracking my food and getting in better shape. I'm still in good shape, and I work a physical job and get regular exercise, but despite my activity the weight is coming back gradually because I'm being a moron. I let myself get complacent and stopped tracking my food, and despite my periodic ability to fool myself into thinking otherwise, it's been proven time and again that for me, no tracking = eating crap. No amount of activity can counterbalance eating a pint of B&J for dinner, which is something I do mindlessly when not tracking, and never seem to do when tracking makes me stop and think about it. So no more of that nonsense: I need to get back to tracking, because I refuse to be yet another story of someone losing weight and then regaining it all.

Challenge Goal #1: Track all my food

• This should be easy as long as I don't let myself act like a moron and blow it off. I tracked my food for years and I know exactly how to do it. It takes me less than 10 minutes per day. It's just a matter of following through. 
  • A: 25 days or more tracked --- B: 20-25 days tracked --- C: Fewer than 20 days tracked

Challenge Goal #2: Eat average of 1800 calories per day