On the go lunch ideas?

Steaky

I'm after ideas for lunches for work.  I'm a lorry/truck driver working through an employment agency, so work is very varied and subject to changes.  If I get chance, I usually make a couple of sandwiches with a couple of candy bars for my lunch. If I don't get chance or just feel lazy, I stop by a truck stop and tend to not get the healthiest option. 

I wand and to cut out the truck stop food and candy bars, as well as reduce the amount of bread in my diet. So I would like some ideas on healthy alternatives that can be carried in a bag and eaten cold.  I can be quite fussy with food, I don't like tuna, salmon, mayonnaise, cold eggs, cold pasta and cheese. Am not very imaginative when it comes to food either. All suggestions welcome and considered. 

Right off the bat, you can replace candy bars with fruit.  That will still get you some simple sugars and not need to be refrigerated.  Grabbing an apple is just as easy as a candy bar.  Also maybe set aside some time once a week to make all of your lunches.  It will be easier than making lunch five times if you can stand to eat mostly the same lunch for a week.  

• Like 2

Intro

Challenges: #1#2#3#4, #5

Step 1. If you don't already have a way to keep your food cold, invest in something that will do that (lunch box with cold pack/cooler/etc.)

Step 2. Deconstruct your favorite foods.

• For example: A generic hamburger.
    • Ingredients: bun, ground beef, lettuce, tomato, pickle, condiments.
    • Exclude the bun (it's only going to get mushy)
    • Ensure meat is cooked before packing.
    • Chop or shred everything into mouth-sized pieces before packing.
    • Layer ingredients with protein (hamburger bits) on bottom.
    • Either use single-serving condiment packets, or layer condiments over meat.

Step 3. Put the ingredients in a container (options include plastic/glass Tupperware, or even a quart-sized mason jar.)

Step 4. Put packed lunch + utensil into lunch box/cooler.