• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

ladylydia

Are heavy weight RDLs dangerous?

I just stared a new gym, and they recommend everyone meet with a person trainer to go over goals.  I've been out of training for a year so I figured it wouldn't hurt to figure out my new baseline. My background is barbell training following a 5/3/1 styled program for RDLs. squats, bench and OHP.  The trainer i met with told me to switch to conventional deadlifts over RDLs.  Generally i prefer RDLs because of the emphasis on hamstrings. But the trainer said that it's too easy to slip a disk with RDLs and to train conventional instead if i want to lift anything above 225.  RDLs are my favorite exercise and i don't want to stop training them, plus i'm almost certain I've seem RDL lifts above 225 before.  i'm only at 180 for my current  RDL record, so i could keep training it safely for now, but i don't want to stop after i get above 200.

My goals are to become monstrously strong, and lift as heavy as possible.  Can anyone tell me if heavy lifts are safe with RDLs because i don't want to stop progressing with them, but i also don't want to put myself at risk of injury.  

Performed and loaded properly the RDL isn't inherently any more dangerous than a regular deadlift. That said, while I wouldn't agree with the trainer's fear mongering I would agree that given the goal to become monstrously strong and lift as heavy as possible you're doing yourself a major disservice ignoring the conventional deadlift. No matter how good you get at RDL's you're always going to be leaving weight on the rack compared to a regular deadlift. This is just a physical truth that no amount of training will overcome. Your RDL may be higher than your conventional DL right now but that's purely a function of neglecting the conventional deadlift. This is why the RDL is widely recognized as an assistance exercise, a very good one to be sure but still an assistance exercise.