• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Astrid

Baby steps to paleo?

Hello all, I'm considering moving towards a more paleo-ish diet but I'm worried about the difficulty of giving foods up. Whole 30 has been a HUGE trend at work and 4-5 different teachers have tried it since December. However, I take some issues with some of the philosophical explanations for rules, such as not being able to create "replacements" for non-approved foods using approved foods. The idea that using bananas and eggs to make pancakes is somehow wrong because it's "totally missing the point" and that "a pancake is still a pancake, regardless of the ingredients" totally doesn't resonate with me. On other things, I'm more strict - I don't drink juice because I view it as just another fructose stripped of the fiber that would otherwise be there if you just ate a pineapple. As for alcohol... well, I'm a French and Spanish teacher so there's no giving up my wine.

In a week, I'm going to be moving in with my boyfriend for the summer and he eats a fairly typical American diet, complete with boxed mac and cheese and hamburger helper. I'd like to outline for myself some baby steps for what I could do week-by-week for a couple of months to come closer to paleo - specifically, removing grains, added sugars, maybe some dairy. Does anybody have ideas for small, specific baby steps for what to switch or remove or add week-by-week. Without freaking out my boyfriend.

Any ideas?

• Like 1

Welcome to the NF forums, Astrid!

Here's my little disclaimer: I am no longer wholly Paleo, but 90% of the weight I've lost has been following the Paleo basics fairly strictly.