• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Sign in to follow this  
Rivanariko

Does Coconut flour taste like... coconut?

I'm a baker.

By that I don't mean that I'm a professional baker (though I did decorate cakes for a while), but I bake quite frequently. You could say that it's one of my "coping skills". When I'm upset I bake. If I'm really upset, I bake bread because you get to beat on it. But mostly I make things like cookies, cupcakes, muffins, biscuits, etc. I find it relaxing and I love to experiment with it the way some people enjoy experimenting with flavors in cooking. I'm an okay-but-not-good cook, but I'm an awesome baker.

I'm trying a paleo experiment (as absolutely terrifying as that is for my grain-addicted self) and I've been looking up Paleo baking recipes. Super excited about all of the possibilities, but most of them call for coconut flour and I HATE coconut. Has anyone baked with it? Can you taste the coconut flavor in baked goods?

On the same line, what about coconut oil? Right now I mostly use olive oil, but I'm curious about coconut, but again, I would be incredibly sad if all of my food suddenly started tasting like coconut...

I tried baking with almond flour a few years ago, and while it works for things like bread or muffins, it doesn't absorb the liquids like wheat flour does, so it wasn't very successful for cookies, at least with my recipe. It's certainly something that I'm looking forward to playing with though.