• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

SymphonicDan

[SymphonicDan] quits his job and travels the world [Level 19]

I'm serious - it's happening!

For the past 4+ years I've been a software developer at a pretty cool company, but it's time for a change. I've always wanted to spend some months travelling around the world, and now is my chance :) I also compete at the international level at mental calculation and have big competitions coming up in September (in Germany) and November (in Las Vegas).

My intention is to travel around Europe in September before the first competition while training, and somewhere more exotic before the competition in the USA.

As an introduction for everyone new, I'm a 25-year-old British guy who enjoys gymnastics, handstands, bodyweight training, climbing, slacklining, piano compositionfootballsalsa dancing and Spanish. I used to work out ~5 times per week but recently I've lost motivation :( My peak was about a year ago when I created the training video but not sure I could do 100% of the moves there anymore...

At the end of July I'm also competing in the Urban Ninja obstacle course race :) ...and I have a driving test in early August.

So this challenge I have two main goals:

1. Prepare for my travelling adventure
  2. Regain the exercise habit

The challenge is simply a checklist of items - with points for each:

• any gymnastics or strength workout, climbing, slacklining or salsa session (1 point each) : 7 (last updated Aug-04)
  • finally learn to do a bar muscle-up (5 points)
  • quit my job! (1 point)
  • make plans to move out (2 points)
  • create detailed packing list (1 point)
  • plan destinations for Europe trip (2 points)
  • book flights for Europe trip (1 point)
  • plan destinations for October trip (2 points)
  • book flights for October trip (1 points)
  • more Spanish practice (2 points)
  • update CV (1 point)
  • compose a piano version of "Sahara" by Nightwish (6 points)