• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Bernard Marx

C25K and first race guidance

A little over a month ago, I decided to sign up for my first 5k and started using the rundouble C25K app. I allotted more than nine weeks from starting the program before the date of my race on the advice of the internets claiming that many people need to repeat a week or two in the program. 

Well, so far, I'm in Week 6 and haven't needed to do that. In fact, when I did the twenty minute run workout I felt really good averaging a 9:30 pace (my race goal for the first one is to try and come in under 10min/mile). So I'm looking at the calendar and realizing that if I don't wind up needing to repeat two weeks between now and the final week, I'm going to have two weeks before the race with no idea what's appropriate training (I am an utter running noob armed only with a smartphone app, a few tips from a coworker, and a few articles from lazy Google searches). JFGI didn't return any obvious or consensus answers, so I figured I'd stop in with my Rebellion friends and see if anyone has any suggestions.

The last few weeks of the app seem to be just straight timed runs that add two minutes to the run each week, so is it as simple as continuing that pattern for a couple weeks and getting into longer runs, is there a type of workout I could do that would help me use the time to push my pace, or should I just repeat the last week a couple times to maintain?

Any advice or opinion is greatly appreciated.

Hi! I'm no expert at running, but I completed C25K and I just followed the app's instructions without any extra effort needed. I did try to do some exercises in between, but that was more to do with getting a little bored of just running than anything else. I run rather slowly(~10min/km), so I finished my first ever 5k in 50mins, but I managed to finish it anyway! 

Good luck with your C25K journey!