Another new member stopping by to say hello

In the immortal words of Dr. Nick, "hi everybody!"

I've come to this site with the goal of losing weight and getting in shape for a few different reasons, but first a little background. I'm a 22-year-old, female, college student who is planning on working as a zookeeper after graduation. I've been overweight my entire life, even when I was on two different swim teams and practicing for 5-6 hours a day for five days a week (I was in shape but still overweight). My doctor pretty much told me that I would always be above the normal weight ranges for my height. Once he told me that I sort of gave up on ever being skinny, which was a pretty devastating realization for a 12-year-old girl. After quitting swimming in high school my weight ballooned and I've been sitting at the same spot for 6 years. I always made promises to myself to lose weight, it's just never happened and I was never able to stick to a plan. I often made up bullshit excuses to avoid going to the gym, but no more! A few things have happened in recent months that have inspired me to lose weight.

The first was some unintended (though not unwelcomed) weight loss from working outside all summer. It gives me a bit of a jumping off point. The second was getting a vegetarian marathon runner roommate. It's a lot easier to eat healthy and work out when he goes for a ten mile run and I just end up feeling guilty if I don't go out and do something. I also have hopes of improving enough in Taekwondo (balance and flexibility are good, but speed and stamina need a lot of improvement) to test for my black belt by the summer. I'm currently a blue belt so it's not impossible but it will be a challenge. The final reason and most important is that I'm just sick and tired of constantly wanting to improve, but not taking any of the steps to reach my goals.