karinajean hibernates in her own very peculiar fashion

karinajean

I mentioned on another thread a theory that is very attractive, which is that as we pass through fall and approach winter we should expect to do less and sleep more and want to be at home more because it's the season for HIBERNATION.

ok, LET'S ALL BE BEARS.

the_golden_compass_battle_bears_93788_16

my interests are shifting pretty rapidly because, you know, ASSASSIN PROBLEMS.

also experience has proven that I'm not very good at hibernating or not doing everything I want to do.

so this challenge here we go now!

* go to the gym. it's cold and dark and I am not interested in running outside right now. shoot for at least 2x a week at the gym. My husband is in! so this should be easier to force myself out of my nice warm den (seriously we keep the house so cold at night in the winter [because we are cheap!] that it's hard to get out of bed) and head out into the cold to go to the gym.

while at the gym, I will probably do all the weight machines and also some treadmill stuff. we have a 7K to run in December, and I don't want to be caught flatfooted for it... if you will.

LARGER GOAL: the guy who runs my dojo has a weight room and does personal training. He's one of those really kind, goes out of his way to be helpful kind of guys who ends up making a lot of assumptions about what people are going to do and then trying to anticipate their needs. I would like to explore lifting heavy weights with him, but I want to get to a point of some rudimentary capabilities first, because he is so good at revising his expectations I don't want him to revise mine too low when I first start, because that will cause him to anticipate something about me that I am not prepared for. If that makes sense. NOTE it would be a lot easier to pursue this with a stranger, but I am in the dojo 3x a week, and it seems to make the most sense that I do this stuff here. So, next challenge I want to start the dojo weight lifting.