I feel so much pressure to be witty and creative right now, but I'll just jump right in instead.

I'm LyFi (Lyndsey). I'm a writer. I live and work on Capitol Hill.

I haven't had a car in just about a year and it's been the best year of my life—walking and biking everywhere has made me so much more in touch with the world around me and just generally makes me feel alive. I'm sure the lack of do-I-have-a-parking-ticket anxiety doesn't hurt either.

So let's see... I usually hit spin classes 5 days a week—sometimes 6, sometimes 4. I share a very fitness-focused, clean-eating house with 3 awesome girls. My room mate (and BFF) is a fitness instructor so we do body pump or abs together after spin a few times a week. I'm always trying to do something new to keep from burning out—like trail running or yoga or kayaking—but I HATE street running. Hate. Dog at vet hate. Five year-old watching C-SPAN hate. I respect all the runners out there but my ADD is just too strong to spend that much time hitting the pavement.

I follow the paleo diet (although I eat legumes like lentils or chickpeas when I make Indian food—sue me) and drink enough water to float a battleship, but I indulge in happy hour gin and sodas a few times a week... I mean, it's DC. As my grandfather said, "nobody trusts a man who doesn't drink." My grandfather was super sexist, so I'll just assume the same applies to ladies. Anyway I'm pretty sure that's the mentality for everyone here in the swamp. If early man had access to booze, booze would totally be paleo.

Moving on...

I'm here because I've known for a while that "something is missing" and Spezzy's post really hit every nail on the head. Weight training is what's missing. I'm cardiovascularly fit, sure, and I have decent muscle tone, but I really want to take it to the next level and be the fittest, strongest LyFi I can be.