• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

WhiteGhost

My Hands are Killing Me

Kind of the opposite of Westeros where it is usually the hand that gets killed.

So I am working on progressions for the muscle up, which includes a lot more hand movement than just regular pull ups.  Kips, eccentric MUs, plyo pullups, etc. all mean my hands moving around on the bars and now my hands are getting covered in painful callouses.  Back when I worked a shovel for a living, losing callouses was torture because they were the only thing keeping the blisters away but when I look online it seems like all the advice is to cut them off.

Is it really so bad to keep them??  

• Like 1

I have no knowledge regarding the callous cutting question (I can tell you the weightlifters in Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo do it, that's about it), but maybe gloves? I know they make weightlifting gloves, and a muscle up is a type of weight lifting. 

• Like 1

Yeah, I may have to resort to gloves.  I don't like them, though, because I don't feel like I get a very good grip on the bar, and I would prefer not to fall off in the middle of a knee raise :)

Some other ideas I am thinking about are maybe some moleskin or some type of corn bandage.  I am worried they might slip, but worth a shot.

7 hours ago, Machete said:

450x300_Leather%20Hand%20Grips.jpg

It's okay to keep the calluses, but when they do rip it's like 5 days of lost training time.

Are those the things gymnasts use?  I have no idea where I would even go to buy those (or even what they are called). :(

Do you have a pumice stone? I use a pumice stone to keep the callouses from getting too big. And use some good hand ointment specifically for hand care. The one I have now is only a local brand, but it has Shea Butter which is helpful. Burt's Badgers has some good hand cream.

• Like 3