• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

SymphonicDan

[SymphonicDan] and the huge Barcelona challenge [May 5th onwards]

68 posts in this topic

Strange timing, but a 25-day NF challenge is exactly what I need right now, so here goes :)

Until last August I was a software engineer and spent much of my free time doing gymnastics, football, calisthenics, weightlifting and climbing. Then I quit my job and set off travelling around the world.

• I backpacked around Eastern Europe
  • I represented Britain in two mental calculation events
  • I had my first real-life NF meet-up and went climbing
  • I studied Spanish at a language school in Valencia
  • I volunteered as a tour guide in the volcanoes of Nicaragua
  • I backpacked around Guatemala

Then I returned home and had no idea what I wanted to do :( I didn't feel ready to quit travelling, but had had so many adventures that I didn't know what should come next...

The default plan seemed to be to sit in my parents' house forever contemplating this embarrassingly first-world problem, but that's lame. So yesterday I flew to Barcelona with an AirBnB booked for 4 weeks.

Now I'm stuck :P But I have a big plan. Starting tomorrow I'll spend 25 days doing the following:

• creating a website from scratch with no prior knowledge of the software development needed
  • being super-productive by concentrating properly as I work
  • eating healthily possibly with an experiment at eating as vegetarian
  • returning to bodyweight strength training on a regular schedule working towards the bar muscle-up
  • practising speaking and listening to Spanish
  • learning more salsa and bachata dance

This will be a points challenge because I like them. Challenge is the 25 days from 5th May to 29th May.