Alarion: Tackling Burnout

Alarion

BURNOUT... NO MORE!

Being a freelance translator has quite a few positive aspects; however, some downsides come with it as well. For example, nobody will chase me on compulsory holiday, and being a silly woman I do not grant any to myself. I have been working with no proper vacation for almost two years, and taking only a random day off once in a while. But, oh, too much work is a recipe for burnout!

Lately, I've sat down and looked at all the negative things that have come with burnout:

- I've forgotten how to have fun and have done almost nothing of what I used to enjoy: reading, drawing, even participation in National Guard;

- My weight refuses to go down and even has gone up slightly (what with me eating mindlessly);

- I've slept way too little because work took up too much time (and found out that driving when tired is very scary indeed);

- I'm very irritable and get angry easily;

- The quality of my translations has suffered lately.

So after lurking on here only for a long time I've decided to set up a challenge again and see if I can manage to find my way and avoid drowning being captured by burnout even more. Currently I feel like I'm trying to find my way through a dangerous swamp, much like in a picture below, with a hope that a reward awaits on the other side.

rogains_mazs.JPG.eefcabb049be6c27ee9a89984ba1c8db.JPG

Goals!

Goal #1

No work after 22:00 (at least 5 days a week).

I can set my own schedule, so often I would do runs or other things in the morning, and then there's stuff like cooking meals and what not during the day, so often I would work in the evenings to get my translations done. However, there are days when I work all day long, late into the night and then get up in the morning to finish the text. No more of that though; I will take only as much work as I can accomplish without driving myself crazy.

Goal #2

One day a week completely work-free!