Forums are back in action! ×

Weaker than a...hmmm. Even lambs would beat me up.

I've been stalking NF for a while now, and have been too ashamed to join up. I don't trust my resolve to stick with anything long enough to see results, and all of the superhuman success stories make me shake in my self-conscious boots.

But it's been too long now, and if I fail, well, I'll have to suck it up and accept that. The alternative, of course, is to NEVER ACCEPT FAILURE.

I used to be sporty, not crazy fit, but I held a black belt in Zen Do Kai and would run a half hour each day. Now I realise how much of my fitness I took for granted. I left home, stopped exercising and lost a ridiculous amount of weight. Now I'm a bit better off than the waif of a human I was 6 months back, but I don't want to settle for 'a bit better.' I want levels of badass-ery as yet unseen!

I'm a destitute student who is quite uncomfortable in gyms, and am easily distracted - gnats have a longer attention span than I do. So thus far I've settled on the need for a strict routine and plan which utilises body weight. The idea of an assassin class really appeals to me, and I'd love to be able to do the gravity-defying yoga routines with hand and headstands.

I guess I'm posting in the hope of some plans/tips on where to start. I've looked over the beginner's bodyweight workouts, and Steve's right - the warm-up is all I can handle right now, and then I'm toast the day after! So if anyone has been in a similar situation, or just has anything at all to add, it'd be awesome to hear your thoughts/challenges/testimonials.

Welcome!