Forums are back in action! ×

I stumbled here from a chance remark someone made over at Myfitnesspal.com

I've been tracking my food intake there for several months... went through those initial days of victory of losing some weight, then the usual dreaded stall of plateau, got involved in a group thread on eating more to lose weight.. and have been resetting my metabolism by attempting to eat my TDEE - 15% (approximate by calculations) of around 1900 -2100 calories per day, plus lifting "heavy"... my weapon of choice is kettlebells... twice a week.

About twice a week I do a little HIIT on the treadmill (proud owner of a lovely Nordictrac treadmill - a good one) to get the cardio in... a bit of a change from what I started out doing, which was an hour a day of slow moving treadmill (lots of reading time!)...

My "lifetime" loss is 60lbs from my highest weight. How did I get to my highest weight? Well, I thought that I was an anomaly - one of those rare people that can gain weight by dieting - yes, boys and girls, I dieted my way UP to 282lbs! mostly by eating - can you guess? - low fat - high carb. I gained on about 1200 calories per day. Oh, and I did try the low-carb thing, too... funny thing is, I'm allergic to dairy products -dangerously so - so when I first tried the low carb, and I was eating butter, cheese, full-fat yogurts, I also nearly died (I won't explain how my allergy expresses itself, to spare anyone that might actually be reading this all the way through).

I've always known that eating fruit, veggies, nuts, seeds, coconut oil, and whole grains (limited) was the way to go, but let myself get sidetracked by "experts" that were telling me different. I even was doing the entire 100% raw vegan thing for a few months, but got sidelined by the "80-10-10" thing, which so threw me out of whack (I want my whack back!!) that I lost considerable ground, and am just now regaining it.