Forums are back in action! ×

Hi, all! I'm going by the name Alanna Moonlight here because I love the Lioness Quartet by Tamora Pierce. And, while I'm hesitant to post much identifying information for the moment, I realize it might help to paint a picture of me: I'm a librarian and avid needlecrafter, so a lot of my time during the week is peaceful and quiet, but very sedentary! Some of my favorite books are A Tree Grows in Brooklyn and several Tamora Pierce series, I love both Star Wars and Star Trek, but also old-fashioned comfort shows like Little House on the Prairie.

I have been wanting some sort of fitness accountability or tracking system for a while, as I've found that during periods of my life when I am getting good exercise, I'm much happier, less anxious, and I sleep soundly and can bounce out of bed better in the morning, but being busy with work, school, and family life, I don't prioritize it enough. FitBits are great, but honestly, stats alone have never motivated me to stick to schedules or goals.

I'm not an unhealthy weight, but I do lack muscle tone and general bodily fitness. I would love to get comfortable with a regular routine of resistance/weight training, and just generally be more sound of body long term. I also am working on improving my diet and sleep patterns. (Working on day 2/28 of no caffeine!) Currently the only thing I have done consistently since May (when I had a break in semesters and was going to the gym regularly) is go horseback riding, which I love dearly, and want to maintain as part of my balance, breathing, and bodily exercise.