Forums are back in action! ×

Red Head starting her Epic Quest!

Howdy Everyone!

My name is ElKee and I am here to find strength to continue my weight loss and life success. I have currently lost 30 lbs and will be competing in my first half marathon this weekend! I am so excited but also very anxious lol If anyone could share some half marathon pointers I would greatly appreciate it. I was never the person who thought running for 13.1 miles would be an enjoyable experience but thanks to a good friend, I decided it was time to hunker down and go for it & I am really enjoying the experience. I have been leisurely running for quite a few years, but I gained the dreaded "freshman 15" when I went to college in '08. I felt unhealthy and tired all the time so a year later and after transfering to a new college I kicked my bad habits and began running outdoors, rain or shine. When I graduated in '10 I was healthier and felt like a brand new person!

Once I moved back to my hometown I continued my awesomeness ;) I was very blessed to have been born in the rural Kansas so I took full advantage of the deserted dirt roads for my running regimen. Fast forward to a couple months back and I had hit a plateau. Therefore, I started roaming the web for some pointers. Thankfully I stumbled across Steve's AWESOME exercise video a little while back and I found my new hero and so many amazing motivational stories through his blogs and these message boards :) I feel more ept to succeed at getting past this pesky road bump, I just have to remember to PUSH myself EVERYDAY.