Forums are back in action! ×

Hey all,

My name is Dennis and I'm from from Philly (Go Eagles) currently residing in Wyoming and I just joined this awesome site, the academy and took in tons of info this weekend. I'm a graphic designer/photographer at a newspaper and an otherwise big adventurer. I'm glad to be here and look forward to getting to know the people working the same goals as myself, to transform my lifestyle into one that I can get up in the morning and look at that mirror and breathe a sigh of relief that I'm doing everything to make myself live longer, feel mentally and physically better and have the energy to do my best. 

I was 247 lbs at 5'6" in 2016, wheezing, feeling like crap and generally in some terrible shape. Running is something I've always been good at and something I really enjoy so I turned to that. Picking up the C25K app was easy and it was something that I could do outside, away from people judging me at a gym. I finished the C25K pretty easily after an "unplanned" breakup of seven years. I ran and ran and walked and drank and ran and walked some more. Wine and Asiics helped me through it all, but I needed to get faster. The C210K app got installed on my phone, chicken and fish in my deep freeze and the will to get to an hour of running no matter how slow, but after researching as much as I could I realized I had to turn to weights. 

I've never been fit but I've also never been heavy so the thought of hitting up a gym was terrifying. I managed to get a membership at a hotel gym that was basically always empty when the weather was way too bad here to run outside. After starting to use free weights I dropped in two months time from 190 to 170 quick. I felt GREAT mentally. Almost hitting my one hour run goal at a way faster speed.

Then life happened and here I am. I won't go into specifics but I'm sure a lot of you know the feeling when things go out of control and you end up almost back to where you started. It sucks.