Forums are back in action! ×

I Used To Be An Adventurer Like You.....

Greetings fellow rebels! 

I listened to an interview Steve did on a podcast a couple years ago (I know, I'm super late to the party) and have been reading the newsletters since. I joined about a year ago, but never posted anything or marked any goals on my profile. I was "too busy" and it fell by the wayside, as our health and exercise habits do sometimes. 

But here I am. I joined the academy yesterday (finally) and I'm doing this. 

I have been battling weight for 15 years. It was weird to me at first, I was fairly athletic in build prior to having children, but after my first baby, I gained over 100lbs. I was depressed, ate all the wrong things, and formed some really terrible habits. I also started taking medication for Bi-polar Disorder... which made me gain even more weight (another 30 pounds - give or take). I had my second child, and stayed in the same cycle of bad habits and eating the worst things! I was drinking 44-60 ounces of soda a DAY. I was eating WAY too much sugar, and my portions were out of control. I knew I had a problem, but I made the "I'm too busy" excuse for years. I was still in college (online, because I had two kids at home and my husband was going through the Police Academy) and had a pretty busy life for sure, but I lived across the street from a gym... First world problems, right? 

I graduated from college in 2013, after I moved back to my hometown, and I started thinking more about my health. As an aside, my hometown is a tiny little blip on the map where nothing ever happens. I have a big yard by city terms (almost an acre) and still - I made the time excuse. Even up until a couple of years ago, when I was working at a photography studio - literally in the same building as a gym, where I had a free membership - I made the time excuse (I feel like a total chump for that now, I am currently paying for that membership because I don't work there anymore).