Forums are back in action! ×

I live! I die! I live again! Howdy folks!

Hi Rebels! I'm Bennu. I chose the name from a short-lived show that was on in the early 80's called The Phoenix, which really inspired me as a kid.

So, here's my story:
I grew up an avid gamer and remember the advent of Pong, text adventures, etc. First computer was the good old TRS-80 (Trash 80). I also read a lot and played AD&D (1st edition) with an obsession.

In middle school I started playing guitar, wanting to be Eddie Van Halen or Jimi Hendrix. In high school I became a headbanger and did some theater. However, all this time I had been severely bullied at school and at home with no escape. So, I lived in my imagination a lot and escaped through games, books, D&D and my guitar.

Spent my 20's partying and was in the Rocky Horror and SCA scenes and took part in all the debauchery that entails. Also went to a bunch of sci fi/fantasy cons. Then I became a homeless road hippie, hitch-hiking and going to Grateful Dead shows.

Some years later I ended up married and was a cube drone and was making decent money, enough to visit Thailand, Japan, and Burning Man, but that married life at a corporate job really didn't fit who I am and I was miserable. Around the year 2000, I was divorced and continued to work as a cube drone in customer service and tech support. I gained a ton of weight and got up to around 265. I was suffering extreme depression and anxiety. Just coasting through life.

My health took such a downturn that I had to stop working and was on my state's welfare programs. I went to doctors and found out I have diabetes. I also had developed Meniere's Disease, which is basically random disorientation and vertigo spells, which was why I couldn't keep working. I decided to get proactive and do whatever it took to turn

things around and manage these disabilities because I didn't want to live my life on SSI.