Forums are back in action! ×

Lvl. 1 all over again

Hey there folks!

First of all I am pretty excited by this community! I like what I see so far, I see good things on the horizon! So my story basically starts when I was 14. Tall and skinny, I wanted to look good in hopes of turning some heads from the ladies, sso I walked into my first gym. It was a little akward at first, but I quickly found things to do and got advice from the people around me. By 15 I began training in martial arts, which kept me strong and fit in combination with taking weightlifting/conditioning classes all throughout high school. When I hit 18(I was a freshman by then) I was lifting two hours a day and swimming three and had packed on about 60 lbs. of muscle. It was great! I was fit and I was built like a tank!

This all lasted until real life hit. Once I had a real job and real responsibilities I didn't have time to work out constantly, which resulted in my body getting in worse and worse shape every year. Fast forward to 32, I had gotten myself all the way up to 290 lbs. and was more or less miserable. When a sudden ugly divorce caused me to lose 20 lbs. in stress weight something snapped in me and I decided to go for it. I cleaned up my diet, dropped soda completely, no fast food, no bread or pasta and I hit 240 lbs. within a few months. Next step I start running, working my way up a bit at a time. I'm 215 lbs. about 6 or 7 months later when I meet my girlfriend, who introduces me to Crossfit. I gain about 10 lbs. back, which is great because it's all muscle and I look better filled out than twiggy anyway.