Forums are back in action! ×

Hi, I'm RunsWithScissors

Hi!

I am brand new in these parts. Just signed up yesterday. My real name is Kerstin and I am from Florida. I have 4 grown daughters (2 of those technically belong to my 2nd husband) and a grandson. I've been somewhat active my whole life, but this is the first time I have been truly excited about fitness. I was in the marching band in high school (doesn't get nerdier than that, right?!) and played soccer with friends. Once I had the kids though, my activity level changed to running after them with my only exercise as an occasional bike ride. That's when the weight started to creep on too. I started running as my hobby/selfish mommy activity 5-6 years ago when my children were finally old enough to amuse themselves safely at home without me for an indeterminate amount of time (teenagers).  

I had only been running a couple of months when I was inspired to run a 5k. I was hooked after that! It was exhilarating!! It didn't take much longer for my ultimate goal to become qualifying for the Boston Marathon. I had no idea how to go about doing this except to run more...turns out I'm not that fast. I'm a little faster than I was 5 years or so (when I first started), but I am no where near fast enough - yet. But, as much as I was running, I really wasn't getting healthy. I definitely fell into the trap of "I ran 3 miles today so I can eat/drink whatever I want". I paid zero attention to my nutrition for the first few years and got frustrated with my lack of progress. 

This past year I have struggled with no energy - making running extremely difficult and frustrating. I've tossed around the idea of joining a gym. When I looked into my local options I felt like nothing was tailored to me, it was all cookie-cutter, copy-cat workouts and trendy diets. I knew I needed something real, something sustainable, but I didn't know where to get it. I don't even know how I found Nerd Fitness! But I am already so glad that I did!