Forums are back in action! ×

Hello Everyone!

Hey guys,

A little bit about me... I've been overweight basically all my life, but didn't really care and didn't really do anything to change that. When I was away from home for college I tipped the scales at my highest weight of 295 lbs, but I just didn't care. But a few years ago I tried Atkins and South Beach and Weight Watchers to try and lose weight, and while I had the most success on WW, looking back I knew that I really didn't want to lose weight. Fast forward to last July and I restarted Weight Watchers at a weight of about 285 lbs, and lost about 10 lbs in 2-3 months, but then I dropped off after that. Luckily the past two times I lost weight, I kept it off as I work in retail and thus I'm on my feet all day.

Then in January I read Ben Does Life, which is a blog about a guy who lost over 100 lbs. Not sure what in that blog did it, but it really inspired me to lose MORE weight, and to lose it for good. Couple that with moving out of my parents' house and into an apartment with my sister (who eats very healthy and is trying to be vegetarian), and I dramatically changed the way I eat.

Since January I've lost about 25 lbs (actually just hit that mark this morning!), and I know now that losing this weight for good IS doable. I've been following Weight Watchers this whole time to lose the weight. Say what you will about it, but it's worked for me from the start, and I like it. And I've been slowly increasing my exercise over the past few months. Today I started week 1 of the basic program of You Are Your Own Gym (YAYOG), and I loved it (even with the unexpected soreness).

I really love this website as I am definitely a nerd at heart and I like how all of these articles are easy to relate to.

So I guess that's that!