Forums are back in action! ×

Really new - and working on my plan!

Howdy - I'm Andrea from Nashville, TN and have been poking around NF for about a year now. NF and Steve are mentioned a lot on my one of my favorite running websites so I've decided to put myself out there.

My bio - I'm 42, 5'5" and just saw 149 lbs (instead of 150, 160 or 170 something) for the first time in a LONG time! I'm a SAHM with 3 kids, my husband travels weekly, and I'm a runner - but injured at the moment. I've never been athletic until I found my love for running 6 years ago. I've had a lot of setbacks with my running over the years (injuries, pregnancy, life, etc.) so I really never ran anything over 3 miles. After my last 5k in October, I'd had it. I wanted MORE. Something much bigger than the same ole 3 miles I struggled with year after year. So, in December, after lots of planning, preparation and obsessing, I started training for my first half marathon! I loved every minute of it! On March 11 - not that I remember - I became injured (stress reaction - left tibia) and had to stop training. I ran 9 miles that day - it was awesome!! Except for the injury part. So for the last 8 weeks I've been going to PT twice a week and having had a major pity party.

ENOUGH!! So here I am. :eek-new:

My Plan (so far):

1. Strength train, strength train, strength train! Not cookie-cutter machine strength train, but body-weight, one-legged, heavy stuff! I want this baby weight GONE. My youngest is 4 for cryin' out loud. And I KNOW this will just help my running - WHEN I can get back out there - SOOO much.

2. Clean up my eating - even more! I eat about 87% clean - but I can do better.

3. Step away from the sauce - my biggie. I LUH-OVE my red wine. But I know I don't "need" it every. single. night. of. my. life. Yes, I get stressed and it's nice to have a glass or two but I know it's not helping my fitness journey.