Forums are back in action! ×

No more excuses!

Greetings fellow rebels!

I, like most people here, am embarking on a new journey: making better choices and healthier habits. I'll take a few minutes to type a quick intro about me and why I'm here.

About me: I am a nerd, a cube dwelling, star trek (and wars) loving, comic reading, D&D playing, Magic gathering, science wielding nerd. My occupation is engineering, and I love it. I've never played sports, however in high school I was in marching band and scouts, which is where most of my physical activity came from. But once in college, my physical activity declined, and stayed that way after I got my cubicle-dwelling job. I'm not going to lie, gyms are scary... Especially when I work on an air force base and even though I can use the base gym, it's full of people who are already fit... There's no pudgy engineer section of the gym. And for a self conscious guy like me, that was a death knell to getting fit. Or, now as I realize, a convenient excuse to not work out. But no more excuses!

Why I'm here: Last month was the most fundamental changing moment in my life, I became a dad. Now I have more reason than ever to be around for a long time, and I've seen my genetics go unchecked (my aunts and father) and that's an unacceptable future. I'm here to turn my momentum around, and get on track to be healthy. In addition to new found fatherhood, a trio of signs convened last week: I played ultimate frisbee and got overly winded within 5 minutes, the button from my dress pants popped off in a comical subway commercial fashion, I carried my son in his car carrier for about 30 minutes, and I thought my arm was going to fall off. The time is now.

I'm here to get fit for myself, my wife, and most importantly, my son. I hope to get to know the community here at NF, from the little I've seen I think I've become part of something special.

Edit: