Forums are back in action! ×

Hiking the Grand Canyon next month! Tips?

Leimanu

Hello! A friend has invited me to go on an EPIC 3-day hike of the Grand Canyon. I've never been out west and I've been dying to see the Grand Canyon for over 10 years, so it was a chance I couldn't pass up.

I like to assume the best and prepare for the worst. So here's what I know:

--We're hiking in on the Hermit Trail and camping two nights. I think she said it's 9km or 9mi or something. Something long. She's done this before so she knows what times of the day to go in and out.

--It's gonna be like 100 degrees. Though I love the heat, I did just come through winter so I'm not used to that kind of heat.

--Carry in what we need and carry it back out. Backcountry camping.

--Most of the weight should be food and water, and I have to bring a sleeping bag. About 1L for every hour of hiking and salty snacks to retain water.

--She's bringing iodine tablets and stuff to treat the river water.

--Heat exhaustion and other heat-related problems sneak up on you.

--I'm super excited about this!!!

What I don't know:

--Never done backcountry hiking

--Though I'm very strong now compared to last year, I've never hiked that long a distance, and carrying heavy water.

--I don't know deserts at ALL.

--I'm kinda a hippy and don't like sun tan lotion (won't put on my skin something I would mind accidentially ingesting) but I'm pretty sure pasty-winter me should have some in the desert sun.

Any advice?

<--<< Daughter of Artemis >>-->

The rim is at about 7,000 feet, I think, so it'll be cooler there, warmer at the river. Definitely consider trekking poles; hiking down and up is killer on the knees, and the trekking poles should help.

Whenever I'm there, I find myself staring at the canyon, not quite believing it. It's tough to take it all in!

Enjoy!

Sea Level

Vintage Sea-elf Assassin

Current Challenge: Sea Level I : Respawn
Pro Aris et Focis