Forums are back in action! ×

level 1 newbie to NF - intermediate fitness

greetings everybody! i'm Scott, a newbie here to Nerd Fitness. i am a relatively fit 56 yr old computer nerd (also musician and general knowledge nerd) working remotely - 5' 5" 150-ish lbs. i have exercise bands, adjustable dumbbells, a bench and a few free weights and barbells. i work out 2-3 times a week, have pretty strong core, eat fairly healthy, but i joined the forum to get advice on my lack of overall fitness - specifically the posterior chain/legs. i mainly work upper body and usually do 3 to 4 sets of 3 to 4 exercises and i do start out by jogging in place for 5 minutes, and occasionally working on 1 min door sits or bodyweight squats, BUT if i try to throw in leg exercises with weights like lunges (even reverse) or squats with dumbbells the knees just go to shit within a very short time and i have to back off again.

i am fairly certain that my staying in a chair most of the day isn't helping the situation. awhile back i tried daily jogging with the wife but had to back off, again due to the knees. being a research nerd i found out about PFPS (i think that's the right acronym), and i looked up therapy exercises i could do to rehab the knees. i'd say i don't have a severe case based on doing the exercises, and i have not done them very much TBH. previously i had a couple of teaching gigs that required a commute with limited amounts of walking and climbing stairs and that combined with the jogging/door sits was enough to keep leg fitness at a nominal level, but i'm moving into fully remote work which means i won't get that limited exercise on the commute.