Forums are back in action! ×

What time is it?

Hi everyone, another newbie here. I’ve been reading the NF blog for a few months and decided to sign up for the forum a few days ago, and I’m excited to jump into all of this.

I’m a 29 year-old guy. I’ve always been skinny, but never very strong and my endurance is nothing to get excited about. Every now and then I’ll come across an article about “essential physical skills you need in order to not die in [insert dire situation]†and I always come up lacking. In most of these scenarios I would end up eaten by bears/zombies and/or fall in the lava pit. Clearly this would be an unacceptable outcome.

Basically I want to be able to run faster and farther and get functionally stronger. I’ve got an ipod touch with the nike+ sensor, which is a good way to make running as nerdy as possible. I’m working towards being able to run 5 km in 20 minutes (right now I’m at about 28 minutes). I like bodyweight exercises and I’m working my way through the Convict Conditioning exercises. I’m currently at step 2 or 3 on the squat, pullup, pushup and leg raise series. The plan is to be doing one-armed pullups and the other fantastic stuff in a year or so.

I feel like I have a pretty solid workout plan, I just need to be consistent — usually I only end up sticking to the script about 30% of the time. The idea is bodyweight work three times a week, running twice a week, and a nice long bike ride on Sunday. The path is there, I just need to keep moving along it every day, instead of once or twice a week.

In terms of food, I’ve been eating a vegan/plant-based diet for the last year or so, it seems to be going fine — I’ve had none of the big changes people promise/threaten will come with cutting out animal products. I could probably do with more fruit, but who couldn’t?

So… that’s it for now I think. Looking forward to being a part of the NF community!