Forums are back in action! ×

newbie up for adoption.

Hello friends of the future!

I have recently discovered this here website and community, and it makes me really happy.

I'm from Ottawa, Canada. I'm a 23-year-old student and coffee shop employee. I can be really lazy sometimes. My user name is half a favorite Doctor Who character reference.

I've long been interested in health and fitness, partly because I'm a huge fan of team sports and all forms of hiking and kayaking and swimming and other activities that I would like to have a fairly high level of fitness for. I've also been been overweight for as long as I can remember, and all previous attempts to lose weight have always been short lived or half-hearted. I tend to lose interest after a few months of calorie counting and hours of the eliptical.

To be honest, my goal is to lose weight. I weigh in at about 190, and I'm a 5'3" girl who wears a Canadian size 14/XL. I feel like I have some fat to lose, but I have no interest in specifically obsessing over pounds and inches. I can go over a BMI chart all I want, but my recommended 20 lb weight range, really doesn't have specifically ME in mind. So my specific goal is to feel comfortable in my own skin, look good in a bathing suit, and this is going to involve some weight loss and some muscle gain of an unforeseeable amount. I'm also looking to initiate a lifestyle change and for this to not be a 3 month long weight loss, only to come back on when I get bored of 'the program'.

My biggest challenge is a lot of mindless eating, when I'm not hungry or consuming things with no nutritional value. I have a hard time with moderation and not paying attention to my stomach.

So I'm here looking for advice, help on where to start, and to benefit from other people's good ideas, and to find some like-minded friends to help motivate me to get where I want to be.

Hi Sparrow! I've just discovered the website too.