Forums are back in action! ×

Can someone help the new guy???

Hello fellow recruits,

I recently stumbled upon this website when I was looking for a workout program. After I read the "How to Build Your Own Workout Routine" I was impressed and every one of Steve's blogs after that. A little about me... I'm 19 and currently taking college classes online to major in Cybersecurity. I like to work on my own schedule so having to go to class at a set time every day didn't work out to well. For the past few months all i've been doing was working, playing video games and sleeping. I realized how lazy i've become and want to make a change. I go to the gym once or twice a month so i'm wasting money paying for a membership. I've been overweight since about 3rd grade & have tried to lose weight since I finished 8th grade but always ended up with some excuse about how i'll start next week or next year but never did. A few months after I graduated high school I was diagnosed with Nuerally Mediated Hypertension (NMH) which mainly causes me to faint or lose control of my muscles alot. In 9th grade I weighed 220lbs and was 6ft tall. After I graduated I already hit 300. The doctors can't give me any medicine to help with this condition so i'm hoping if I get in shape and get down to a healthy weight it'll go away.

I am currently 325 lbs and 6'3". My body has always been built like a football player so I would like to lose weight and stay bulky at the same time.

Can anyone help me? (Sorry for the long introduction. I get carried away when I start writing :emmersed:)

Hi there, welcome! I don't have any specific advice except to browse through Steve's posts and the forum here because there's tons of good info about all sorts of different topics: Weight loss, paleo eating, general healthy eating, weight lifting, running, cycling, and on and on. It's a GREAT resource for getting healthy.

Good luck!

Current Challenge

Level 2 Human Ranger