Forums are back in action! ×

A Belated Introduction

I've been on the forums for almost six whole weeks doing the challenge and neglected to introduce myself... which is typical of me as a matter of fact.

Background: I started out my fitness journey at about 300lbs; my nutritional intake was ridiculously bad (non-stop junk food consumption) and my level of fitness was about -5 on a scale of 1 to 10. Not only that, but my weight was very slowly getting worse as time went on. So at a point of no particular significance I decided to make a change (actually, a bunch of them). Being a trained researcher, I poured through the empirical literature on weight loss and fitness (what works, what doesn't work, etc), and what I found sucked. Basically most people can lose weight, but keeping it off long-term is rare; usually because people slide back into their old, crappy habits immediately after losing the weight. Booerns, empirical literature. Booerns.

So rather than cross my fingers and hope for the best despite the evidence, I tried to set myself up to make changes that would achieve results and implement them at such a pace that they would become permanent; reversing them 'just because' would be nigh impossible because they're habits I've been doing for months or years. So I broke down the whole process intro a series of phases...

Phase I (6 months): Stop running full speed in the wrong direction - cut back on junk food and gradually introduce modestly healthier eating habits (e.g., replace pop with diet pop, limit number of 'treats' in general, etc).

Phase II (6 months): Get ready for major new habits - I bought an ancient stationary bike on the cheap and made myself go at it for at least 30 minutes a day. I knew going in that it was meager exercise, but the goal was more to force me to routinely and consistently set aside time for exercise. Side note: anyone want an ancient exercise bike?