Forums are back in action! ×

Need Advice on a lifting routine

Adama1508

So I decided a couple weeks ago to get better at life. I started lifting with a buddy and running. I am 21 years old, 5'11" and weight 240. I play keeper in lacrosse so I am looking to lose weight, but also get much stronger. I also am doing an extreme 5k (like a baby tough mudder) in September. My friend is in Air Force ROTC and is a climber and he is in great shape.

I joined into his lifting routine but it doesn't seem like a lot. He has a program where the lifts we do 4 days a week are Bench, Squat, Deadlift, and Overhead Military Press. We do 3 sets. The first set is 5 reps on a low weight, the second set is 5 reps on a manageable weight. The final set is as many as you can do on a higher weight. Then we do a couple ab exercises.

After this I usually run about 1.5 miles.

Should I be doing a different workout for what I want?

Our lacrosse workout was separate days for upper and lower body and was a lot more involved.

Thanks everyone!

-What do you hear?

-Nothing but the rain

-Then grab your gun and bring in the cat.

Sounds fine to my non-expert ears (eyes?). I was in the same ballpark when I started at the gym, and can attest that it's unnecessary to spend super-long times in the gym to burn fat; just have a vigorous 45min - 1 hour routine that leaves you sweaty and disheveled at the end. I've had pretty good success doing this kind of routine, even just over the course of 3 months.

If you want more lifting exercises, and it doesn't take too long, maybe throw in dumbbell lunges and dumbbell rows. Those are two that I like, personally.

Kewilson - Misfit Adventurer

[sIGPIC][/sIGPIC]

Operation Phoenix: 6-Week Challenge Thread

STR: 2 (+2), DEX: 0 (+1), STA: 3 (+0), CON: 4 (+0), WIS: 5 (+0), CHA: 1 (+3)