Forums are back in action! ×

Coming back

Hey everybody, I'm Lisa, and I'm a martial artist returning to training :)

Actually, I returned back in November after about 7 years since I last had consistent training (there were a few 3 month-long stints in there, but for accuracy's sake...). I needed something to help me keep sane during my last year of undergrad, where I was often pulling 18 + hour days, and I had gotten seriously unhealthy, so I figured Tae Kwon Do would be a great way to both relieve some stress and work on myself - I got my black belt 10 years ago, so it just made sense to continue on when I found a school I both loved and could afford. Since graduating, I've joined the masses of unemployed college graduates quickly growing bitter with the world - but at least I have TKD. Because of my schedule at school, I really couldn't focus on my training a whole lot, and now that I've got plenty of time on my hands, I'm really trying to up my game. Because I've switched from ITF to Kukkiwon, I'm currently prepping for a 'test' to basically get my black belt 'certified' in this organization. So, what do I want to do?

- work on my general strength - we always start class with a 20-minute warmup which often incorporates body-weight exercises (or even scarier, crossfit workouts, because we share space with a crossfit gym and my instructor is a total junkie). Even though I'm one of the highest ranks in class, my performance is often one of the worst (its not competitive, but I am). Plus, my lack of overall core strength seriously undermines my ability to perform well.