Forums are back in action! ×

I Want to Be a Superhero (Or at Least Feel Like One!)

Hey, everyone! I'm Allie, you can call me TOC or OC or Oxford or whatever you prefer to use. This is my first time using this screen name (normally I'm a creature of habit) but I thought this screen name might be the most appropriate for my goals on this site.

As a geek, I've always been really enamored of the whole superhero aesthetic: strong not only in one's convictions, but in body too. As a kid, I used to go around standing up to the boys in my class who would pick on my friends even though I was "just a girl". Since violence isn't exactly how your parents want you to learn to solve playground problems or even (especially) complex moral issues, the Power Rangers got turned off, my broom-handle "sword" got taken away, and I was discouraged from exercising in the ways I had been previously (ie roughhousing with the boys and trying to rub their faces in the dirt). My parents put me in intramural soccer instead-- which I hated, and when athsma got added to it, I quit. The same thing happened when they tried to enroll me in women's tennis. I kept gaining weight rapidly, from bad living habits all around.