Forums are back in action! ×

Hamstring Injury, I need a Medic!

Ghost

Ghost here,

I've had a nagging discomfort in my left hamstring for the past two and a half weeks. I didn't think much of it at the time.

It just started one day after I was a week into my training for the splits. Making amazing progress, but then my left hamstring

just got an ache. I kept going, still doing my normal bodyweight and flexibility workouts. Another week later, and I was going

backwards.

Halfway through my normal range of motion for stretching I just stopped. I couldn't go any further. I thought I should be able to but I can't.

So now today, I finish the day with a workout, and as I cap off my training, I stand up. My hamstring was just seized up, I can walk, but my ROM

is a bit limited. It is sore when pressure is applied, and most of my mobility in the splits is gone.

And I was so close.

But I am just a student, I don't need to worry about it I said. She'll be right, as I always think.

Youth solves everything, or so I think.

But as I sit here with an aching hamstring, whining and feeling sorry for myself, I think I need some advice.

What should I do? I can answer any questions you need.

Thanks in advance.

If being a student means you can see a sports injury doc, or a physical therapist, or even just a doctor or nurse, then

DO IT. Do it now. If it doesn't mean that, do it anyway. Probably someone local can help you figure out how to get affordable medical treatment (I know nothing about Australia's healthcare systems).

(Guess who didn't do that and ended up with nagging injury/physical therapy/mild to severe pain/limits on what she could do/crazy medical bills/eventual recovery... and wishes she had just gotten it sorted by a sports injury doc in the first place. If you guessed Georges, you're right!)

This used to be where  my weight loss progress bar was. Maybe it will be here again when I'm ready to face the scale and work on my fat problem.