Forums are back in action! ×

Career Advice (again)

skip-tracer

As part of my plan to "level up my life" I need to get myself together work wise. This is probably going to be much harder than losing weight and being healthy, in all honesty I'm completely clueless and could do with some words of advice from anyone who has found themselves in a similar position.

I made the mistake of choosing a totally idealistic degree when I went to university. I studied Music Technology when I probably could have had less fun but gained a much more meaningful degree by doing something like IT. I graduated in 2010 and spent a year or so living in a city and failing to find work until the money ran out, then I got incredibly depressed and that derailed everything even further. So now I'm 24, living in the spare room of my dads house in a small town I can't stand with no meaningful qualifications, no work experience and no career prospects at all.

I've tried to teach myself more skills lately. I've learned a lot about web design but it would take years for me to become employable in that area at this rate. I looked in to going back to university to study something like that but the way funding works in the UK means that it's significantly more expensive to study for a second degree if you already have a degree of the same level.

I'm going to an open evening at the university I studied at to find out more about doing an MSc in Sound Engineering. I'd really enjoy doing that but ultimately I know I'll come to the end of it and be just as hopelessly unemployable as I am now. On the other hand at least it's better than my current situation.

I know I'm not the first person to feel this way in their mid-twenties. How the hell do people get through this?

(Sorry for the rant...)