Forums are back in action! ×

Changing the plan of attack and trying...again.

Hello everyone, I’m Tamora!

I’ve been “trying†to eat a healthy diet and establish a regular exercise routine to lose weight for about two years with almost no success at all. Apparently, I suck at getting healthy. :P Even after letting myself down dozens of times, I’m still want to keep trying. Hopefully I can manage to not suck, finally!

I’m a college student; I’ll be going into my final semester of undergrad studies this fall, majoring in English literature and the German language. I LOVE to read more than anything (SF and fantasy are my true loves) but also enjoy hiking, gardening, alto sax playing and friend-and-family visiting. I’d like to add strength training and maybe also sprinting to that list. :)

I started becoming interested in eating real, unprocessed food while taking a random elective class that focused on America’s food industry. We watched Food, Inc., did a project on the China Study and read Michael Pollan’s Food Rules, among many other eye-opening materials. I started reading healthy food and fitness blogs and began a cycle of starting to eat better and exercise, failing, trying again, failing again, etc. I recently discovered Nerd Fitness from a link on No Meat Athlete. Since, I’ve been thinking that maybe a supportive community, one aspect of this whole get-fit-and-healthy thing I’ve been missing so far, is something that can help me break out of the fail cycle. I’m hoping having others to help hold me accountable might be the tipping point in this cycle that I am SO TIRED of.