Forums are back in action! ×

Hello to the Nerd Rebellion

Hello everyone,

My name is Gareth and I am a web designer based out of Northern Ireland. I found Steve's blog many months ago while doing a search for the best order in which to do weights and cardio for weight loss. I landed on an article from Nerd Fitness (turns out just weight lifting was best - mind = blown) and I was won over by the personality of Steve's writing and the manner in which he approached his articles. Being a nerd myself it really appealed to me. From there I was exposed to the paleo lifestyle and Marks Daily Apple which opened my eyes to so many new things about nutrition that I was floored.

I have now decided to join the Nerd rebellion. It took a while for me to reach this decision but I have recently established what my goals are in terms of health and fitness and I think joining the community here on NF will help me stay on target to reach those goals (Star Wars reference FTW).

If I may here is a little background on how I got to where I am and where I want to be over the next few months and beyond.

I joined a traditional Jiu Jitsu club while in my second year of university and trained until 2004 when I got my black belt. Back then I was in great shape. I had 14% body fat (may even have been less than that as I only ever got it done once - it's now sitting in the 20s somewhere), was training in Jiu Jitsu several times a week and lifting weights at least 3 times a week. That was a long time ago.

Not long after I got my black belt I ended up quiting training. Due to the pressures of the real world I just wasn't able to make the time. I also stopped training completely and put on a lot of weight.