Forums are back in action! ×

Can I trouble you for some bodybuilding advice.....?

Good day to you all. Need some help if I can get it. I've been losing weight for 6 months and have managed to lose 3 stone. I still have a little excess weight but I want to start bulking up and putting on some muscle. If I start to do this now, along with cardio, will my excess weight start to drop off? The only reason I ask is because I know that to build muscle you have to take on more calories than you burn off.

Also, what should I be doing in the way of training and nutrition?

First off, congrats on 3 stone! What you should be doing in terms of training and nutrition is a very open ended question and depends on your specific goals and current status. We need to know:

Age, BF% (or height/weight), current training level with weights, what you want to achieve (building muscles is a bit vague) and what are you willing to eat/not eat?

Basically, intuiting the answers to the above questions as "20-40, 30-35%, beginner, I want to get stronger, I'll do anything" my advice is to continue to cut, eating around 1800-2000 calories (the specific number will depend entirely on your BMR which you can calculate on the web) for your new increased activity, then learn through videos or any of the many instructional resources found around the web about how to deadlift and squat. Then follow a weightlifting/powerlifting program like SS, SL or Rebel Strength. You'll need about 3-4 weightlifting days and 3-4 days of cardio on your off days, or mobilityWOD. If you grow to love exercise then this will be a joy rather than a chore for you!

edit: But yes, reinforcing what artmajor said. If you choose to eat at caloric surplus fat gain is inevitable, your strength gains will be much greater though.