Forums are back in action! ×

I never know what to title these kinds of threads

Well, hello! This site came to me at the exact perfect time and it's very nice to meet you all.

I spent pretty much all of my childhood at least 100 lbs overweight, if not 150. I had just about the worst diet any kid could ask for, and I spent almost all of my time on the computer or reading. It wasn't until my freshmen year of high school that I decided I wanted to get healthy, and I began to change my diet (fruits, veggies, meats, nuts, etc, practically no processed grains). Over the past four years (I'm 18 and about to start college now, and boy, I'm terrified) I've lost about 90 lbs, and I know it's a bit of a cliché line in the weight-loss community, but I feel better than ever.

It wasn't until about April of this year that I decided I wanted to start adding exercise to my health program. I graduated from the Couch-to-5K running program a few weeks ago and am thinking about starting the Bridge-to-10K variation next. I've found I really enjoy running (or, let's be honest, slow jogging), and I'm looking into the barefoot variation. Muscle building has always been a bit more strange to me and I never knew quite what to do for it. I found this site by searching "how to do a squat properly," and once I finished with that I started reading. Seriously, this is exactly what I was looking for.

As for the nerd part, I was never much into video games (except The Sims) but I read a lot and am planning on becoming some sort of a scientist, does that count?

Welcome to the Rebellion!