Forums are back in action! ×

Got chocolate milk??

Hi! I'm a newbie...just joined a couple days ago! I'm trying to tone up as much as possible in the next few weeks as I leave for a vacation to Hawaii! I know...way to wait til the last minute, huh :) Actually, I lost 5 pounds in the month of June and am fairly pleased with how I look, but I'm still untoned in my lower stomach - I'm a woman...that's where we tend to store fat :(

Anyways - I'm following the "slim down" guide, and I know that milk should be kept at a minimum, but does anyone know anything about chocolate milk? I had always heard that it's a great post-workout recovery drink, but I can't find anything on Nerd Fitness regarding it. Anyone have any insight to offer??

Hey, what's up? I'd say welcome but this is my first post so I can't really welcome you :D

Milk's often cited as a perfect post-workout meal for people who are trying to gain muscle (lifting weights) and who need to get a good complete protein source for their workout to repair the muscle fibres that have been torn due to lifting.

If you're trying to lose weight, you're looking to attain a caloric deficit on a daily basis by performing more activity (burn more calories) and eating less (take in less calories), causing the body to burn its fat supplies.

You don't really need much more protein than the RDA (save a little to repair muscles used in performing cardio exercises like jogging and swimming) and the high-fat content of milk won't aid your quest to a toned lower stomach so milk isn't really the best post-workout supplement.