Forums are back in action! ×

Good day fellow members of the Rebellion!

So, a bit about me.

My name's Lesley. I'm 27 years old as of tomorrow and a week on Friday I submit my PhD thesis. I'm not horribly out of shape and my BMI has always been healthy, but I've also been sat at a desk for the past four years and before that I was an undergrad student and you know what that diet can be like. I've tried getting myself in shape and upping my fitness levels before. I've seldom stuck to a 'plan' for more than a week before jacking it in.

This time it's different.

The past four and a half weeks I've been doing the Couch to 5k plan. This week I ran for five minutes at a time for the first time ever, what a buzz! I have also, with the help of this website, been improving my diet by going mostly paleo. I've tried to properly commit this last week and despite one slip-up I am finding it easier to reach for the fruit bowl or a small bag of almonds than heading for the biscuit tin. I'm also drinking a LOT more water than I used to. A week on Friday I submit my PhD and I also get paid. I'm going to buy myself the Rebel Fitness/Strength guide and start doing more weight/strength exercises alongside continuing the 5k plan. I guess that's what I've learned most from this website so far. Start small, aim big. I love running and want to keep doing it, but I also want to get stronger so I guess I'll be coming here to look for advice on balancing workouts etc.

Anyway, hello! This is the longest I've stuck to any sort of plan, so hopefully I'll be around for a good long while :D

Welcome to the Rebellion. Make sure you get with a guild that will help you with your goals - maybe the Scouts since you are into the C 2 5k program? Basically just pick a guild that best suits your workout interests and goals. They will be priceless in their help for you. all the best in your goals!

"First, decide who you would be and then do what you must do." ~Epictetus 

Hello Lesley!