Forums are back in action! ×

Sleepy new member

Hi guys

I’m pretty new to all this exercising malarkey, this website is really great so I hope you guys can help me out with a bit of a bottle neck I’m having.

I’ve been properly focused for around 1.5 months so far, I’ve been eating much healtier and cut out dairy and bread from my diet. I also go to swing dancing classes twice a week about 2 hours each, its great cardio and a lot of fun (if you don’t believe me definitely find your local on and give it ago 

) and I’ve been doing to my local gym once a week and working on weight training. Most weeks (when its not raining) i cycle to work (about 4Km round trip).

Now my problem is i’m constantly tired in the evenings, during the day in work most times really and if it wasn’t for dancing being so much fun i’d probably have stopped going a long time ago. I do have a desk job which I really enjoy, but even there i find myself tired during the day and have difficulty focusing which isn’t so great when i’ve a lot of work to do. Another weird thing is i do have a decent night sleep every night which will be around 7/8 hours and i rarely have difficulty going to sleep.

I’m hoping the tiredness is just due to having only started to get fit (i spent a lot of time watching tv and reading books before starting), or its because of my weight which is fighting back when i try to exercise, so if anyone has had similar experience let me know. I’m hoping this tiredness will go away after a few months of focused exercise, but i’d really appreciate any advice you could give me. Even healthy eating tips for extra energy 

I hear ya on the sleepiness. Do you wake up a lot during the night? It can be hard to remember waking up. I wear a fitbit when I sleep so I can see how often I wake up. You probably just need more sleep! Exercising puts a great amount of stress on your body, especially when you first start out. Do you wake up naturally, or does your alarm clock scare you awake?