Forums are back in action! ×

What else should I be doing?

Toph821

Here's what I do and I'd like any suggestions on tweaking my routine. I'm new at this, especially the Paleo-eating part, and have never actually committed to a workout "routine." it was always just "do what you can/want to, when you can/want to." Suggestions are appreciated!

1. Monday: Beginner Body Weight workout + 20-30 minutes of interval running
  2. Tuesday: Rest day, stretched and/or yoga (and intermittent fasting between breakfast and dinner)
  3. Wednesday: Beginner Body Weight workout + 20-30 minutes of interval running
  4. Thursday: Rest day, stretched and/or yoga (and intermittent fasting between breakfast and dinner)
  5. Friday: Beginner Body Weight workout + 20-30 minutes of interval running
  6. Weekends: Still haven't gotten down an actual weekend routine. My weekends are busy, hectic, and tiring...

Also, on a rough guess, my diet is about 75-80% Paleo.

Is this a track for success or am I doing it completely wrong?

Have you done intermittent fasting before? I'm not sure that starving yourself on your recovery days is such a great plan. You might want to hold off on that until you've adjusted your diet and gotten the hang of working out. Many people find they can't cope with too many lifestyle changes at once.

Bodyweight AND interval running on the same days might be overdoing it. Some people like to do cardio and weight-bearing exercises on alternate days. But if this plan works for you, it's fine. The best workout is the one you will actually do.

Also, no matter how hectic your weekends are, please make sure you're getting enough sleep. Sleep time is when your body does a lot of its growing (secreting human growth hormone, etc.) so if you don't sleep enough, you're not gonna get stronger. And you'll be overstressed and want to quit your wonderful new routines. So get your sleepy time. Take naps or quit watching TV if you have to, but sleep.