Forums are back in action! ×

Disordered eating, miscarriage, body hate, Oh My!

Hi everyone. I'm a 33-year-old female. Like a lot of people, I'm sure, I have a long, sordid story, most of which is too long to rehash here. Suffice it to say, I'm not a newbie to fitness and body "embetterment." However, my quest for "self improvement" has, in the past, taken me down the road of an obsessive fixation on food, calorie counting, and trying to be as lean as possible. I've never been one to want to look like a twig and I've always enjoyed my muscles, but in the past I've tried to get my body fat into the perhaps-too-low range. It has resulted in whacked out hormones, missed menstrual cycles, and general anxiety and body loathing.

I have, more recently, struggled with trying to conceive (perhaps related to being too lean in the past, even though I now have a fair bit of "womanly fat"). I had a miscarriage about a month ago, so I am also struggling with feeling really let down by my body.

I got fed up with my previous online health community (a pretty well-known calorie counting site). I couldn't take the fixation on weight loss (in sometimes very unhealthy ways) so I deleted my account and resolved to be done with the calorie counting and (perhaps) weight loss ambitions forever. I resolved to turn my attention toward fitness and body image health. I decided to view my exercise routine (heavy lifting and 30 minutes on the elliptical 3x/week) as something that I did to feel good in my skin and help my mental health and NOT think about it as "a way to burn calories" (or whatever). Remarkably, it has suddenly become much easier to get to the gym! And I suddenly like what I see in the mirror a lot more.

But I need a new online home for support, so... Here I am!