Forums are back in action! ×

Let's do this-Leeeeeroooooy Jenkinnnnnnnnns!

Hello everyone!

I've already declared for the Rangers before posting my Intro, but such is the "to do" list of a Gallifreyan. So let me go back to the beginning.

Back in 1981-wait no, maybe not the beginning then...let's try closer to the present.

Currently I’m a graduate student studying in South Africa, though I’m originally from the US. Back in the states I wasn't super fit, but I could do the wiggle dance with very little jiggle. I lived in Washington DC on a meager salary so my diet wasn't so much health conscience as it was an economic necessity and my long runs through the park were cheap entertainment. But all that was about to change-upon moving to South Africa, the dollar to rand exchange combined with the cheap (and delicious) food blew my mind and my waist line. To make matters worse, my running routine was now confined to a treadmill (the new neighborhood isn't very runner friendly), I was stressed from starting a new program in a foreign country, and my wonderful fiance, who loves to cook, had just purchased Jamie Oliver’s entire collection of books. I didn’t stand a chance.

But then! I was tired of feeling tired and I missed seeing my toes (they're exceptionally cute). Plus at some point I would have to go back to the US and I didn't want to have that awkward conversation which goes "wow-you’ve...changed....a lot....um....your hair is nice?" with all of my old friends. So I started counting calories and cardioing like my life depended on it. Which it kind of did. Socially at least.