Forums are back in action! ×

Need Help with a Routine?

stripes0721

Guys, i've been working out for a few months and I've seen results but they aren't as expected. Now that I've been on NF, I've seen some flaws that I've been doing. I just wanted some critiques on a new workout that I'm devising. I'm also trying to walk on to a basketball team, so please keep that in mind. I'm trying to aim for a Ranger/Assassin Build

Monday Wednesday Friday workout

Quads: Squats (5x5)

Glutes/Hami's: Deadlifts (5x5)

Push: Bench (5x5)

Pull: Lat Pull Down (5 x 5)

Core: Crunches (50)

Tuesday THursday Saturday

Run 20 minutes

Any 4 days

Play my sports

Critiques, suggestions, advice? Now that I've been on NF I need to improve

That looks pretty solid, honestly. It looks like a simplified SL/SS with added cardio and sport-specific work. Pretty standard off-season training. Like krj said, what are your specific goals? Also, what is a "Ranger/Assassin build?"

Never think of pain or danger or enemies a moment longer than is necessary to fight them. -Ayn Rand

Amongst those less skilled you can see all this energy escaping through contorted faces, gritted teeth and tight shoulders that consume huge

amounts of effort but contribute nothing to achieving the task.

I agree that it seems like a pretty solid lifting plan + cardio, but I wonder why you are doing all of the lifts 3x/week.

(Someone please correct me if I'm wrong here....) Starting Strength and StrongLifts and other beginner lifting plans that I am familiar with split the big lifts into two workouts. So, you would do three exercises on Monday and Friday and the other three on Wednesday. The next week, this would flip. Squats are done every workout, because they are important yet arguably the hardest to master and deadlifts are only 1x5 instead of 3x5 or 5x5 because they are so taxing when done on the same day as squats.